About Hungary
  1. Homepage
  2. About Hungary

About Hungary

Hungary lies in the middle of Europe, in the Carpathian Basin since its foundation, which 1100 th anniversary was celebrated in 1996. Hungary is one of the most important tourist destinations in Central and Eastern Europe welcoming more than 13 million visitors each year.

It is a landlocked country. Its neighbors are Austria and Slovenia in the west, Slovakia in the north, Romain and Ukraine in the east, Serbia and Croatia in the south. 

Its capital and most populated city is Budapest.

Its surface is 93.028 square kilometers and its population is 9,874,784.

It’s official language is Hungarian and it’s flag is a horizontal tricolor of red, white and green.

Hungary’s political system is a parliamentary democracy. The President of the Republic of Hungary is János Áder and since 2010, Viktor Orbán has been Prime Minister of Hungary. The supreme legislative body is the Parliament. The highest executive power is the government, while the judiciary is exercised by the courts.

The country is a member of the European Union , NATO, the OECD, the World Bank and the UN, a member of Schengen area, as well as one of the founders of Visegrad Four.

The Hungarian Forint (HUF) is currently the official currency of Hungary.