About Hungary

Hungary is one of the most important tourist destinations in Central and Eastern Europe, with more than 13 million visitors a year. It covers an area of 93,028 km2 with 9,874,784 inhabitants, and its capital and largest city is Budapest. The official language is Hungarian.

It borders Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria. Hungary has the largest thermal spring system in the world and the second largest thermal lake (Hévíz), the largest lake in Central Europe (Lake Balaton) and the largest steppe area in Europe (Hortobágy). The flag of Hungary is a horizontal tricolor of red, white and green. The official currency of Hungary, the Forint, has been in use since 1946.

The country is a member of the European Union, NATO, the OECD, the World Bank and the UN, a member of the Schengen area, as well as one of the founders of the Visegrad Four.

The Hungarian political system is a parliamentary democracy. The President of the Republic of Hungary is János Áder, and the Prime Minister of Hungary has been Viktor Orbán since 2010. The supreme legislative body is Parliament. The highest executive power is the government, while the judicial power is exercised by the courts.

Relations between Serbia and Hungary are at a historical political and economic maximum, which results in holding joint sessions of the two governments several times a year in both countries.

Between Serbia and Hungary, several interstate agreements have been signed regarding the financing of various projects in Serbia.

In addition to the joint commission, there are several different funds that deal with investing in projects in Serbia, all with the aim of opening the market for cooperation between Hungarian and Serbian business entities. One of them is the HEPA fund.

For more information about the HEPA fund, visit https://hepa.hu/